JavaScript Disabled

Your JavaScript appears to be disabled. JavaScript is necessary for various functions, such as order checkout, to operate on this web site. Please ensure that JavaScript is enabled.

Outdated Internet Browser Detected

Your web browser appears to be out of date. Soon you will not be able to create a secure connection to our web site using TLS 1.0. Please upgrade your browser from current version( ). Learn more about TLS.

Always Save More at Summit!
In-Store Pickup Location

VHT FlameProof Coatings SP102

Paint, Flameproof Coating, High-Temperature, Flat, Black, 11 oz., Aerosol Spray Can, Each

Estimated Ship Date: Loading...Processing Tuesday 5/28/2019 Would you rather pick it up? Select Location

  • Shipping restrictions may apply on this part.

  • If you purchase this part, your order can only be shipped by ground.

View Similar Products

39 Customer Reviews for VHT SP102 - VHT FlameProof Coatings

Average Customer Review

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Results 1 - 10 of 39

Sort by Most Helpful Sort by Newest Review This Product

Surprisingly Effective

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

VHT-SP102
I used this on the aftermarket tailpipe on my Jeep TJ. I expected to have to do "touch up" work every couple of weeks, but after 5,000 or so daily driven miles (some of which were during an Ohio winter) it looks as good as the day it was applied. 5 stars

5 of 5 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from OH

Date: January 17, 2015

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

VHT FlameProof Coatings SP102

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

VHT-SP102
If you want to pain your exhaust(manifolds, headers, pipes) this is the only stuff I've found that will take the heat. It works best if you can blast all the existing paint and rust off and clean the metal with lacquer thinner, acetone, or carb cleaner. Paint the first coat light, and at least two medium coats on top of that. I will put on as many as 5 coats to keep it looking good longer. It will not burn off, but after a year or so it will start to rust through, so you have to scuff and recoat it every couple of years to keep it looking sharp. ...read more

5 of 5 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from WA

Date: September 02, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Works great

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

VHT-SP102
I've had great results from this paint. Headers & exhaust were sandblasted, degreased, and paint applied. Took great care during application. Followed instructions for heat cycling painted parts at increasing temps in an oven before installing. Finish has outlasted other parts that I've had professionally ceramic coated. Parts are used on a car that sees time both on the track and on the street. ...read more

3 of 3 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from WI

Date: May 22, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Good coating for headers

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

VHT-SP102
I used 2 cans of VHT to coat my Summit shorty headers. One thing I found after reading the directions, is that they recommend a primer coat (I must have missed that in the description). I hope the coating holds up without the primer! So far so good - no rust, flaking or peeling, and the headers look great.

2 of 2 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from PA

Date: August 06, 2016

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Paint

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

VHT-SP102
It's nothing',like they say It cracked and I ended up,having to,sand blast w it,off Cost me More,that what it's ever worth

1 of 5 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from CO

Date: April 14, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Just got

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

VHT-SP102
Had my headers blasted and used this not sure on longevity yet.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from FL

Date: May 06, 2019

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Burned off headers

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

VHT-SP102
Took the sales guys recommendation. Took the time to sand, prep degrease the headers then laid 4 nice coats. When the engine was fire up for the first time 3 months laters it blistered and pealed smoking me out of my garage.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from OH

Date: April 19, 2019

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Works as advertised.

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

VHT-SP102
Cleaned up headers with scuff pad and brake cleaner (not the non flammable stuff) light coated, med coated, final coated...touched up. Sat for a day. Baked them for the first two cycles on can in my home oven! Then did the full cycles as “on vehicle”. They are perfect. Have to worth the cash. “You get out, what you put in”.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from FL

Date: March 25, 2019

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Peeled first highway drive

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

VHT-SP102
Prepped, painted and cured according to directions. Used with primer on brand new clean heads (with all of the old paint removed of course). Cured it on vehicle like the directions said. The paint was fine around town for a few days, but the first time I took it on the highway it began flaking off where the header pipes bend.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from NV

Date: January 22, 2019

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Duh !

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

VHT-SP102
What can I say, it's black spray paint?

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from MD

Date: October 26, 2018

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Some parts are not legal for use in California or other states with similar laws / regulations

Back To Results
Email this page
Sign Up for Email X