JavaScript Disabled

Your JavaScript appears to be disabled. JavaScript is necessary for various functions, such as order checkout, to operate on this web site. Please ensure that JavaScript is enabled.

Outdated Internet Browser Detected

Your web browser appears to be out of date. Soon you will not be able to create a secure connection to our web site using TLS 1.0. Please upgrade your browser from current version( ). Learn more about TLS.

In-Store Pickup Location

Powermaster PowerMAX Starters 9100

Make sure this fits your vehicle:

Starter, PowerMaX, Mini, Inline, Chevy, L6/V8, Each

Estimated Ship Date: Loading...Processing Today Would you rather pick it up? Select Location

  • Order this item and get free delivery and handling on your entire order! Offer excludes truck freight and oversize fees. Valid on orders shipped in the contiguous United States.

View Similar Products

199 Customer Reviews for Powermaster 9100 - Powermaster PowerMAX Starters

Average Customer Review

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Results 1 - 10 of 199

Sort by Most Helpful Sort by Newest Review This Product

Bolts too short.

PWM-9100
Got this starter for my 383 with 10.5:1 compression. Done good for the first few weeks then one morning after breakfast it just spun and would not turn the engine over. After towing home pulling starter I found that the three small bolts holing the starter to the mounting flange had all pulled the threads from their holes. After looking the bolts only go in maybe 1/4 to 1/2 inch but the holes are tapper over an inch. Will get another one and try longer bolts here and see if this cures the problem. ...read more

5 of 6 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from GA

Date: May 04, 2015

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Powermax starter

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

PWM-9100
After I put my motor in, the new stock starter didn't want to crank it over after it got warm. Motor is 10-1 compression, 383 stroker. Installed this starter and the motor comes to life right away. Great price and lightning fast shipping once again from Summit.

4 of 4 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from CA

Date: April 15, 2015

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Great american made product

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

PWM-9100
Easy install, lots of cranking power, it looks of quality. Good to see American parts again. Old school reviewer.

3 of 3 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from CA

Date: March 02, 2016

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Great starter

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

PWM-9100
I have a 67 Camaro with a big block. I was having problems with my stock starter not turning over when it was hot, within an inch of my headers didn't help that. This starter is so much lighter and smaller. It is much further away now from my headers and works perfectly. The supplied shims and spacers shows how powermaster wants you to have a quality product and wants it to last. ...read more

2 of 2 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from PA

Date: June 11, 2015

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Number 5

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

PWM-9100
This starter has just been installed for a week, it performs as expected, durability review will have wait, a while as I did while enduring 4 attemps by Summit to replace a defective starter. The first three did not match their online catalog photos (power to solenoid on the side opposite to the picture) and were unuseable.

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from NC

Date: October 21, 2016

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value

Great product

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

PWM-9100
Used this starter on a 385" sbc. small size made install easy and has plenty of power to start my 550 hp engine. Great product and as always fast shipping & great communication from summit.

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from AZ

Date: August 24, 2015

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Quality

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

PWM-9100
One of the pinion teeth was not tapered. It was square.

1 of 4 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from FL

Date: December 22, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Perfect fit

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

PWM-9100
This was the easiest upgrade I’ve done on my gasser project. Cut 12 pounds switching from an oem starter.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from WI

Date: March 11, 2019

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Power Master 9100

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

PWM-9100
works great on my crate 350 it works around the 3inch exhaust just as we needed Still having a bolt problem. They are too short

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from TX

Date: March 04, 2019

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

It works

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

PWM-9100
I bought this as a replacement for the same Powermaster starter that had been on the car for 18 months. The car is a 65 impala ss with a 430 HP 383 and headers. Summit gave me a discount (which I really appreciate) because the same starter I had bought 18 months ago was giving me trouble. I sent the old starter giving me trouble back to Powermaster in Chicago so they could look at it and re-furbish it. Their guy (John) was wonderful to work with and gave me some good advice on how to make the new one last longer (including that I should take off my protective blanket). Other advice included making sure my block was bare of any paint or residue where the starter bolts on and grounds and to make sure I had 11 volts at the starter when cranking. Powermaster refurbished the old starter and sent it back to me for a total of $38 labor and parts and $20 shipping. It cost me $22 to ship it to them, so not bad cost-wise to have a spare. Powermaster makes a great product and stands behind it. Summit as always is great to work with. ...read more

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from UT

Date: January 14, 2019

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Some parts are not legal for use in California or other states with similar laws / regulations

Back To Results
Email this page
Sign Up for Email X