JavaScript Disabled

Your JavaScript appears to be disabled. JavaScript is necessary for various functions, such as order checkout, to operate on this web site. Please ensure that JavaScript is enabled.

Outdated Internet Browser Detected

Your web browser appears to be out of date. Soon you will not be able to create a secure connection to our web site using TLS 1.0. Please upgrade your browser from current version( ). Learn more about TLS.

Always Save More at Summit!
In-Store Pickup Location

POR-15 Rust Preventative Paints 45404

POR-15 45404 - POR-15 Rust Preventative Paints

Image is a representation of this item.
Actual item may vary.

Loading media


In progress

Paint, Rust Preventative, Black, Semi-gloss, 1 qt., Each

Estimated Ship Date: Loading...Processing Tuesday 5/28/2019 Would you rather pick it up? Select Location

  • Shipping restrictions may apply on this part.

  • If you purchase this part, your order can only be shipped by ground.

View Similar Products

68 Customer Reviews for POR-15 45404 - POR-15 Rust Preventative Paints

Average Customer Review

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Results 1 - 10 of 68

Sort by Most Helpful Sort by Newest Review This Product

...had to try it

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

POI-45404
POR-15 has been talked about & discussed so many different places, and mentioned by so many different people, I decided I'd try it out for coating an old rusty truck frame. Expensive to try, but very comparable in cost to any other method of "restoration". Time will be the true judge of the product's durability, so I can only comment on applying it. I brushed it onto the frame after cleaning the frame to the point a finger swipe revealed no residue or dirt on my finger or a white rag. This took some serious prep time. The POR-15 dried to recoat-time in almost the exact time listed on the technical sheet, with a variation of 5-10% based on the humidity change during the day. It is very easy to brush on, and had a similar consistency to a wood stain, and it seeped into rusty pits very well. I topcoated the POR-15 with a enamel spray due to the lack of UV resistance, even though a frame doesn't really need it. As a test, I put tape on the back side of a few metal pin holes on some sheet metal, coated the holes with POR-15, and let it dry. The results are impressive; the coating filled in the holes perfectly, and looked very nice. I could not bust the holes out by tapping them with a framing hammer after a week's cure time. Take the comments on its adhesion to skin (and everything else) seriously. You have to be lickedy-split if you want it to come off. As a side note, and if you are scheduling based on weather like I was: Summit had my Quart of SG Black to my house in less than 48 hours. ...read more

9 of 9 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from AL

Date: November 06, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Best defense

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

POI-45404
Best I found to fight against New York State salt. need to use entire can in one job or open and pour into smaller cans before using

5 of 5 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from NY

Date: September 04, 2014

Great

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

POI-45404
I have been using Por 15 for 15 years and it's always been a great product. Wont use anything else.

5 of 5 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from ID

Date: July 21, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Great product

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

POI-45404
I've never seen anything work as good as this stuff.

4 of 4 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from MO

Date: September 11, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

good product

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

POI-45404
does what it is supposed to do, but expensive. needs to be available in pint containers, so their is less waste.

4 of 5 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from MO

Date: September 29, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

better rust prevention

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

POI-45404
Having used several different types of rust preventatives and finding that there is a general inconsistency between them, I was very pleased to work with a product that has a reliable track record. as with any product of this type, following manufacturers recommendations is advised for a proper finish. Over all POR-15 has proven to be a first class product. ...read more

3 of 3 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from PA

Date: August 04, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

used as pickup undercoating

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

POI-45404
i used the POR-15 as the base coating in my fender wells, running boards, and cab. It went on very well and provided a very hard coating. I followed up with a rubberized undercoat. Looks fantastic!

2 of 2 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from TX

Date: February 22, 2016

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

great stuff!

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

POI-45404
Ive used this stuff several times. It does exactly what they say it does. One word of caution, use gloves. It does not wash off hands.

2 of 2 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from GA

Date: November 09, 2015

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Multiple uses = a happy customer

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

POI-45404
I've used this stuff to paint over 4 rusty brake drums, a rusty master cylinder, a rusty battery tray and even areas on the car where the paint was eaten away due to a battery acid spill.In all instances, POR-15 did the job and did it well. The end result is a nice black surface, with some texture. But the good thing is, this stuff WON'T come off! I did ABSOLUTELY NO prep work; I simply brushed this stuff on and let it dry. Heck, I even recently painted over an exhaust shield and parts of a rusty frame on a go-kart I recently acquired. Yet again POR-15 has won me over....the stuff isn't even burning off the exhaust shield! One word of advice....if you do happen to get this stuff on your skin, I WILL come off if you IMMEDIATELY wash your skin with a rag and some 91% isopropyl alcohol. I know...I've gotten it on me before and this was the only thing I have found that will take it off. But you gotta act fast....if you don't, it'll still come off, but it will take weeks before it does. ...read more

2 of 2 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from NC

Date: July 26, 2015

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Excellent Product

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

POI-45404
Works fantastic, goes on easily, dries to a nice finish, even with a brush. Just watch out, the only way to get it off your skin once it dries, is time!!!

2 of 2 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from WI

Date: August 07, 2014

Some parts are not legal for use in California or other states with similar laws / regulations

Back To Results
Email this page
Sign Up for Email X