JavaScript Disabled

Your JavaScript appears to be disabled. JavaScript is necessary for various functions, such as order checkout, to operate on this web site. Please ensure that JavaScript is enabled.

Outdated Internet Browser Detected

Your web browser appears to be out of date. Soon you will not be able to create a secure connection to our web site using TLS 1.0. Please upgrade your browser from current version( ). Learn more about TLS.

In-Store Pickup Location

MSD Pro-Billet Distributors 85551

Distributor, Pro-Billet, Magnetic Trigger, Mechanical Advance, Chevy, Big/Small Block, Each

Estimated Ship Date: Loading...Processing Today Would you rather pick it up? Select Location

  • Order this item and get free delivery and handling on your entire order! Offer excludes truck freight and oversize fees. Valid on orders shipped in the contiguous United States.

Hazardous Material Warning
WARNING
WARNING: Cancer and Reproductive Harm For more information, visit www.P65warnings.ca.gov.

78 Customer Reviews for MSD Ignition 85551 - MSD Pro-Billet Distributors

Average Customer Review

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Results 1 - 10 of 78

Sort by Most Helpful Sort by Newest Review This Product

MSD Pro-Billet Distributors 85551

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-85551
I have installed dozens of these distributors on both customer and personal vehicles. The quality and performance is second to none. I will continue using all MSD products. Thanks

6 of 6 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from CA

Date: March 18, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Seems alright

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-85551
Not much of an improvement performance wise in a street car over a cheap big cap HEI distributor using an MSD Blaster coil powered with the MSD 6AL electronic ignition. It is made fairly well, but it's nothing special other than having no up and down slop in the shaft. Timing probably doesn't drift. I bought it because it is much smaller and lighter than a big cap HEI, and looks better to me. I was hoping for slightly better street manners at lower speeds, but no improvement there. Nice to be able to modify the advance curve relatively easily. However with a spring kit you can do the same thing with a less pricey big cap unit. I dinged it a star, because I just don't see the quality improvement over other similar off shore built products I was hoping to see. And it made no difference in how my car ran. It was already running pretty good apparently. ...read more

4 of 8 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from WA

Date: April 22, 2016

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Fits well, better than HEI

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-85551
I replaced the old HEI and went all brand new MSD. Here is a picture to give you an idea of how it looks after install, '69 Chevelle w/ BBC

3 of 3 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from CA

Date: November 05, 2016

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Best distributor!

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-85551
You can't go wrong with a MSD distributor! Best on the market!

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from PA

Date: January 04, 2016

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

MSD

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-85551
Nothing but good things to say when it comes to MSD or Summit. I've never had a problem with one of these.

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from TX

Date: December 07, 2015

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

MSD PRO BILLET

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-85551
It is exactly what it is, in high performance motors an msd ignition system is a must I had a problem with the connector, because i bought my 7-al2 used, but i called summit and they had the connector shipped out the same day, got it within 3 business days so no complaints

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from FL

Date: July 11, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

msd

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-85551
I replaced a similar distributor with this one it works great no issues

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from SC

Date: November 27, 2018

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

MSD Distributor

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-85551
Replacing a old off brand distributor. Have had several of these with good results.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from NC

Date: October 30, 2018

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Lock it out

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-85551
Msd are great I lock out distributor and use a msd plus box , set my total timing , the box does the rest no vacuum advance sticking out looks great, runs great. Msd the only way to go

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from MO

Date: September 26, 2018

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Exactly what i needed an FAST delivery

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-85551
Summit delivered this very fast an it had easy instructions to install it dropped it in timmed it out an then I was burning tires in no time thanks summit for fast great service an quality parts will definitely use summit racing for all my hot rod needs!

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from KS

Date: August 13, 2018

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Some parts are not legal for use in California or other states with similar laws / regulations

Back To Results
Email this page
Sign Up for Email X