JavaScript Disabled

Your JavaScript appears to be disabled. JavaScript is necessary for various functions, such as order checkout, to operate on this web site. Please ensure that JavaScript is enabled.

Outdated Internet Browser Detected

Your web browser appears to be out of date. Soon you will not be able to create a secure connection to our web site using TLS 1.0. Please upgrade your browser from current version( ). Learn more about TLS.

In-Store Pickup Location

MSD Digital 6AL Ignition Controllers 6425

Ignition Box, MSD 6AL, Digital CD, with Rev Limiter, Red, Each

Estimated Ship Date: Loading...Processing Today Would you rather pick it up? Select Location

  • Order this item and get free delivery and handling on your entire order! Offer excludes truck freight and oversize fees. Valid on orders shipped in the contiguous United States.

Hazardous Material Warning
WARNING
WARNING: Cancer and Reproductive Harm For more information, visit www.P65warnings.ca.gov.

230 Customer Reviews for MSD Ignition 6425 - MSD Digital 6AL Ignition Controllers

Average Customer Review

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Results 1 - 10 of 230

Sort by Most Helpful Sort by Newest Review This Product

Msd 6AL ignition box

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-6425
My first time using an ignition box. Was surprised at how much better the unit made starting, also makes motor smoother, more responsive, and burns fuel better. Wow, I'm impressed. Instructions to ignition box are simple. Easy to install. Quality is great, but most of all, it works. Glad I made this purchase.

11 of 11 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from OH

Date: August 01, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Great upgrade for an HEI system

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-6425
I replaced my streetfire HEI system with the 6AL and a pro-billet distributor. The change has not only made the car start quicker but it also runs smoother and more efficient. Since it burns the fuel more efficiently my system has leaned out a little. Nothing that a rod change can't fix. The engine feels like it has more power. Definitely recommend! ...read more

10 of 10 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from AL

Date: October 28, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

It works!

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-6425
Smoother idle, more power and better emissions. I have no complaints and easily passing CA smog is just a plus.

9 of 9 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from CA

Date: March 06, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

MSD 6AL

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-6425
Great product, complete with all mounting hardware including vibration mounts. Directions easy to follow. Really like the quick disconnect electrical connections. Would purchase again.

6 of 6 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from CT

Date: August 20, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Watch for differences when replacing old 6A

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-6425
Aloha All, Replaced an old 6A (failed power lead as it would turn out, fixed and it is still working!). Not a drop in effort. 1. The case size different - Same length, however, it is wider (1/2" or so) this means having to drill out new holes and in my case move washer fluid bottle. 2. The leads now all go to one side (the bottom for me). This again, meant changing leads as they did not reach the new location as thy did before. Oh well, this is hot rodding! Mahalo, Michael ...read more

6 of 8 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from United States

Date: March 17, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Bad MSD

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-6425
Ordered two of these boxes.Neither one worked right out of the box.The original one I had (a year old)started overheating and shutting the car down.Spoke with MSD numerous times before they said that there were a batch of bad harnesses during the production run.Not Summits error but frustrating never the less.

4 of 5 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from FL

Date: August 25, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Didn't last much past warranty stage

MSD-6425
Orginally bought a Summit brand ignition box which lasted 3 years. Replaced it with this box and it lasted only 2 weeks past the 1 year warranty. Contacted MSD tech lines several times to ask for help diagnosing. Was told to purchase a new distributor as they believed that was the problem. So I bought a Pro Billet MSD and that did not solve the problem. Was then told to purchase a new coil. Bought the MSD blaster high vibration coil. Only lasted a few months before it stopped working. Used another coil and ran fine for a few days then it went out. Called MSD tech back again and then they said it sounded like the box was bad. Do your research before buying all MSD products. There are other brands out there that will perform just as well and sometimes outperform MSD, will last longer and spend alot less $$$ chasing down broken inferior china products. ...read more

3 of 4 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from IA

Date: August 04, 2015

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Ok for starters

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-6425
Good if you want a starter ignition msd is by far the best for for any ignition project I wold love to have a sponsor by them hahah

3 of 8 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from IL

Date: March 27, 2015

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

MSD 6AL

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-6425
Very nice control box. Simple to wire and install. I replace my whole ignition system of my Cleveland and it was a breeze. This replace a Petronix and the starting, idle and WOT are noticeably better.

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from IL

Date: July 19, 2018

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

6AL

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

MSD-6425
Updated my ignition box with this msd6al. hotter spark cleaner burn rev limiter. I could go on. But msd quality speaks for itself.

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from OH

Date: September 24, 2016

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Some parts are not legal for use in California or other states with similar laws / regulations

Back To Results
Email this page
Sign Up for Email X