JavaScript Disabled

Your JavaScript appears to be disabled. JavaScript is necessary for various functions, such as order checkout, to operate on this web site. Please ensure that JavaScript is enabled.

Outdated Internet Browser Detected

Your web browser appears to be out of date. Soon you will not be able to create a secure connection to our web site using TLS 1.0. Please upgrade your browser from current version( ). Learn more about TLS.

In-Store Pickup Location

Fel-Pro Performance Head Gaskets SFL1003

Head Gasket, Composition Type, 4.166 in. Bore, .041 in. Compressed Thickness, Chevy, Small Block, Each

Estimated Ship Date: Loading...Processing Monday 3/25/2019 Would you rather pick it up? Select Location

60 Customer Reviews for Fel-Pro SFL1003 - Fel-Pro Performance Head Gaskets

Average Customer Review

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Results 1 - 10 of 60

Sort by Most Helpful Sort by Newest Review This Product

1003 FelPro Head gaskets

FEL-1003
BEWARE - HEADS UP; when using a 1003 head gasket on aluminum heads, the wire sealing ring will cut into the head. Surfacing will be required upon removal. This is never stated anywhere in the catalog. Use a 1010 FelPro gasket that has a pre-compressed sealing ring (.039" vs .041 when compressed) which WILL NOT cut a groove on the surface

36 of 37 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from CA

Date: July 15, 2015

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Well Engineered and Constructed Head Gasket

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

FEL-1003
This is a .041" compressed thickness head gasket commonly used for SBC 350s. NOTE: The gasket is marked with an "UP" side, be sure to look for that when installing! There are a number of features that helped me choose this gasket. PRIMARILY, the intended compression ratio and quench area were just about optimum (after I shaved the heads) with this gasket thickness. If you do not know what I am talking about, you should find out before purchasing any head gasket. First, the cooling channels in the middle of the head between the two exhaust ports (a hot spot) are ENLARGED on this gasket to help keep the local heat down. SMART! Second, the pre-applied blue rubbery material eliminates the need for trying to squeeze out the right amount of some RTV from a tube (which I invariably put too much somewhere and not enough somewhere else, and/or smear it with my sleeve). Third, it is a sturdy gasket. I installed, torqued, and removed the heads three times (checking fitment, piston to valve clearance, etc.) and the gaskets seemed unaffected. I chose to spray the gaskets with Permatex copper spray to help with heat conductivity. NOTE: If you open it, you own it and forfeit return rights. Therefore, look at it IN THE PACKAGE all you want, but DO NOT OPEN IT until you are SURE you are going to use it! ...read more

5 of 6 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from CA

Date: February 05, 2015

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Not really the Gasket for a SBC 400

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

FEL-1003
The gasket quality itself is excellent. I always trust Felpro. But the Sales Staff that helped me with this Order should never had sold these to me since I was building a SBC 400. These gaskets DO NOT have the steam holes. They mention in the Instruction that I could drill the steam holes into the gaskets. What a Joke! I successfully drilled the holes into one gasket though trying to get them exact and lined up onto the block is a pain. Holes were a little off. The other head gasket because I was drilling through thin metal in cased in gasket material my drill wandered slightly and being off got way to close to the sealing ring for the cylinder distorting the gasket. So my advise if building a 400...DON'T BUY THESE! Get a set of Felpro 1407 gaskets made for the 400 with the steam holes. Much easier and same high sealing quality. I ended up very discouraged and threw these gaskets out without risking even putting them on my 400. For a SBC 350 they would work fine if you are over bored to the 4.165 diameter this set is made for which is very unlikely so basically I wouldn't buy these again period. ...read more

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from CA

Date: August 20, 2018

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Fel-Pro Head Gaskets

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

FEL-1003
These Fel-Pro gaskets where a little more money then the standard set but I needed the extra height. When I opened them up I seen why they are worth the extra money. They make the standard blue ones I thought where grate 2nd rate.

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from WI

Date: February 27, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Delphi summit

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

FEL-1003
Felpro and summit both belong in the same sentence gaskets have nice beads of sealant around ports and fit perfectly.summit good job as always.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from TX

Date: December 18, 2018

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Very nice gaskets

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

FEL-1003
I replaced a standard blue set with these, and I'm not sure I'll go back to the standard version. Good sealing surfaces all around.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from MI

Date: August 06, 2018

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Fel-Pro

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

FEL-1003
Gaskets are always the BEST!

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from MA

Date: July 27, 2018

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

1003

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

FEL-1003
Always use Fel-Pro high quality and low cost. These have been working great on aluminum heads. No brinneling.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from AZ

Date: July 04, 2018

head gaskets

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

FEL-1003
great price good for hot street car or budget race car..

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from TX

Date: April 08, 2018

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Great gaskets

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

FEL-1003
These gaskets are the best, fit is perfect .

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse X

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: from MD

Date: March 20, 2018

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Some parts are not legal for use in California or other states with similar laws / regulations

Back To Results
Email this page
Sign Up for Email X