Outdated Internet Browser Detected

It appears that the Internet Browser you are using to connect to SummitRacing.com is outdated and insecure. To continue to use SummitRacing.com, you must upgrade your browser to a newer, secure version. Use these links to help you upgrade your browser.

In-Store Pickup Location Close

Summit Racing® Mini High-Torque Starters SUM-829000

Get Free Shipping with Your Order over $99!

Starter, Mini, Hi-Torque, Inline Bolts, Chevy, Big/Small Block, Each

Estimated Ship Date: Today Would you rather pick it up? Select Location

  • Order this item and get free delivery and handling on your entire order! Offer excludes truck freight fees. Valid on orders shipped in the contiguous United States.

52 Customer Reviews for Summit Racing SUM-829000 - Summit Racing® Mini High-Torque Starters

Average Customer Review

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Results 1 - 10 of 52

Sort by Most Helpful Sort by Newest Review this Product

Powerful little starter!

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

I put this starter on a Chevy 350 with 12:1 compression. It replaced the OEM starter and what a difference! This engine starts like a diesel now, winds right up even on hot summer days when the engine is completely warmed up, amazing for the price! The only small issue I had was misaligning it the first try, it needs to be noted that the starter mounting block has two sets of holes and on 350 engine blocks, you'll need to bolt the starter on the outside set of holes so it's furthest away from the engine block. ...read more

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: DUANE from MD

Date: July 17, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Summit Starter

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

installed starter and worked great for first few tries. After that starter just kept hitting the flexplate and would not turn motor over. Checked voltage, shimmed it, everything. Not a moron something was wrong with this starter, picked a vortec style mini starter from advance and worked like a charm everytime. Solenoids on these things are junk in my opinion, do some research many people will say the same. ...read more

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: COREY from SC

Date: June 04, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

awesome

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

I used this starter on my high compression mud truck. The first one I put on last 1 1/2 years..I am running 13.5:1 compression on my SBC...It handled the mud and water and compression well..

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: LARRY from OK

Date: April 20, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

works well

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

I like the small size to fit with headers a bit easier. It took me a couple of tries to figure out which way I needed to shim it, but after that it works great. The screws that attach the mounting plate are Phillips, bolts would've been better, I had to replace one after stripping it a bit when adding shims.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: CHRIS from WA

Date: October 23, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Summit Starter

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

This start has done good on my 383 stroker would recommend this to anyone with a tight fit spot. Works great have full length headers on a S-10 blazer worked great.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: TUTTLE from TN

Date: October 07, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Looks nice so far

Starter comes with necessary shims, hardware and instructions for the install. Have not put it on yet to try it. Will update if have any issues.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: JEFF from PA

Date: October 01, 2014

Appearance
Price/Value

Problems

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

I had a similar issue with another review where the starter would work the first few times, but then would hit the flex plate and no longer turn over. Everything is properly grounded and shimmed. Still nothing. Going to find something else. Installed on a 383 with 168 tooth flex plate. Brand new starter wires and battery. Tried other batteries too just to see if that was the problem. ...read more

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: MATTHEW from AZ

Date: September 29, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Worked for a while

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

Nice size. Worked great for about 2 months. Now it always starts my car when it is cold in the morning. However, if I drive the car, park it, and shut it off, then go do something and return to the car and hour later, all I get is a click. Can be really embarrassing at a gas station as well when sitting in a classic rod that won't start. I have to rapidly flip the key to the start position to get it to wake up the starter. I think the solenoid is probably the problem as mentioned by others. If people are getting these to last, they are lucky. I can't rely on it anymore and need to come up with another solution. ...read more

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: STEVEN from CA

Date: September 29, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Chevy Starter

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

Ordered Mini Starter for my 31 T Bucket put it on everything went very well,,Happy Happy Happy

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: DALE from FL

Date: September 16, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

sum-829000

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

Great starter an ez to install an very good service.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: GARY from WA

Date: September 10, 2014

Some parts are not legal for sale or use in California on any pollution-controlled motor vehicles

Back To Results
Email this page Close
Close