In-Store Pickup Location Close

Summit Racing® Mini High-Torque Starters SUM-829000

Get Free Shipping with Your Order over $99!

Starter, Mini, Hi-Torque, Inline Bolts, Chevy, Big/Small Block, Each

  • Order this item and get free delivery and handling on your entire order! Offer excludes truck freight fees. Valid on orders shipped in the contiguous United States.

Estimated Ship Date: Today Would you rather pick it up? Select Location

47 Customer Reviews for Summit Racing SUM-829000 - Summit Racing® Mini High-Torque Starters

Average Customer Review

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Results 1 - 10 of 47

Sort by Most Helpful Sort by Newest Review this Product

Summit Starter

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

installed starter and worked great for first few tries. After that starter just kept hitting the flexplate and would not turn motor over. Checked voltage, shimmed it, everything. Not a moron something was wrong with this starter, picked a vortec style mini starter from advance and worked like a charm everytime. Solenoids on these things are junk in my opinion, do some research many people will say the same. ...read more

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: COREY from SC

Date: June 04, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

awesome

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

I used this starter on my high compression mud truck. The first one I put on last 1 1/2 years..I am running 13.5:1 compression on my SBC...It handled the mud and water and compression well..

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: LARRY from OK

Date: April 20, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

great price if it held up

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

This is my second one. The first one and now this second one has done the same thing. Works great out of the box and quits engaging afte three months. Stranded in the staging lanes. Called today. They are picking this one up for credit and sending me a powermaster at a discounted price shipped free. Thanks Summit for taking care of the customer. ...read more

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: MATTHEW from TN

Date: September 12, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

sum-829000

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

Great starter an ez to install an very good service.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: GARY from WA

Date: September 10, 2014

Summit high torque starter

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

I put this on my big block Chevy with the aluminum hydraulic clutch bellhousing. The inspection cover is such that it is impossible to check for proper clearance using the method described in the directions. I ended up installing it with marking compound applied to the bendix gear to check the contact pattern. The fit was perfect with no shims. ...read more

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: JON from WA

Date: September 04, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

summit start motor

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

Timely shipping, great product easy of ordering arrived in well packed box.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: PETER from NY

Date: September 02, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Mini high-torque starter

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

I had a difficult time shimming the starter, I had to make another shim to get it to release from the flex plate ring gear. The starter worked for about 8 or 10 starts then the solinoid would only engage the starter drive but not the motor. It's failed to start at least 6 times. It's coming off tomorrow and going back to summit

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: LUTHER from OH

Date: August 27, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Did Not Fit SBC 383

Did not fit my SBC with Eagle crank and flex plate. Drive still engaging flywheel when starter was bolted on. Would have been a disaster if was started. Summit stood behind the problem.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: LESLIE from IN

Date: August 27, 2014

Price/Value
Quality

Starter

The Starter was defective, however Summit service and customer service after the sale was absolutely great.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: JEAN from PA

Date: August 27, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

829000 Mini High Torque Starter

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

Savings in weight and space near headers. That's what i wanted and Summit delivered, If I didn't like it I would have sent it back. I wanted black, however it is easy to paint. The only problem I have with all GM starters is the solenoid location.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: STEVEN from CA

Date: August 05, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Some parts are not legal for sale or use in California on any pollution-controlled motor vehicles

Back To Results
Email this page Close
Close