Outdated Internet Browser Detected

It appears that the Internet Browser you are using to connect to SummitRacing.com is outdated and insecure. To continue to use SummitRacing.com, you must upgrade your browser to a newer, secure version. Use these links to help you upgrade your browser.

In-Store Pickup Location Close

MSD Street Fire CD Ignitions 5520

Get Free Shipping with Your Order over $99!

$149.95

Mail-In Rebate

Product Mail-In Rebate - Details

Rebate Expires: 10/31/2014

Buy $400 or more in MSD Products and get 8 FREE Spark Plugs OR FREE MSD Hat and Shirt! Go to www.msdrebate.com/Atomic_4.aspx

View full rebate details.

Ignition Box, MSD Street Fire, Digital CD, with Rev Limiter, Black, Each

Estimated Ship Date: Monday 10/27/2014 Would you rather pick it up? Select Location

  • Order this item and get free delivery and handling on your entire order! Offer excludes truck freight fees. Valid on orders shipped in the contiguous United States.

23 Customer Reviews for MSD Ignition 5520 - MSD Street Fire CD Ignitions

Average Customer Review

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Results 1 - 10 of 23

Sort by Most Helpful Sort by Newest Review this Product

msd streetfire ignition box.

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

works perfectly. smoothed out the idle and added great throttle response

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: CHRIS from CA

Date: June 07, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Wallace Tillman

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

Used to replace a MSD-6 control box making my 34 Ford roadster street runnable. Really like the firing indicator and also tack connection.

1 of 1 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: WALLACE from MS

Date: March 06, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Does not work

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

Spent entire weekend trying to get this POC to work, the MOST I could get was revving and breaking up then shutdown. Returned to original setup and runs great- where is the performance improvement?

1 of 3 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: JOHN from GA

Date: March 09, 2014

An Improvement to the Ignition System

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

I bought this for my 1971 VW Squareback as an upgrade to the standard Kettering system, following the cues from the air cooled Porsches, which had Capacitive Discharge Ignitions (CDI) much earlier. I had already installed a Pertronix magnetic pickup to replace the points and condenser and to my surprise, the instructions had a section specifically for this set up, which made installation wiring super simple. My only issue was in my application, the power and ground wires could have been a little longer and all the other wires a little shorter for an ideal installation location but for a universal fit product, it's impossible to have a perfect compromise. I have yet to run this with my new engine (in progress) but I honestly have noticed a difference on the current (very tired) engine. Before installation, I would have pretty rough throttle transitions when shifting and getting off and then back on the throttle quickly that this CD box really smoothed out. I have not run it for very long but so far, so good. I did notice extra pitting/arcing on the dist. cap contacts after a week of running but I've yet to do a full assessment to see if the higher spark voltage is wearing my stock cap and plugs any faster. Overall, I'm happy with it and at $50 less than the 6A/AL boxes, it's perfect for my application, small, simple, and effective. ...read more

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: JEREMY from CA

Date: October 18, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Perfect

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

Performed exactly as expected. Running on a 1969 Plymouth Road Runner 440 Mopar

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: DOMONY from TX

Date: October 08, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Couldn't tell a differance

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

installed this and still can't seem to tell that it's there

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: CARL from TX

Date: October 06, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Best bang for your buck

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

Installed this product on my 1968 camaro with a 327cid. Took about 2 hours. That's including time to do a proper job of running and making wiring nice and neat. Car started right up and ran great. It even got rid of the rough idle the car had and throttle response was much improved. This a great product at a price you can't beat.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: EDWARD from PA

Date: September 27, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

streetfire

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

If you don't know which msd box you need, start here. Get the harness connector to make it plug and play.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: ANDY from AL

Date: September 10, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

MSD Street Fire ignition box

Summit RacingSummit Racing Verified Purchase

I installed the box in a couple hours (probably could be done faster, but I’m very meticulous). Installed a new cap and rotor, regapped my old plugs wider and stated it up. Made a huge improvement! Much quicker throttle response with better low end and easy starts! Huge performance gain for the buck! Great directions, easy to follow, easy to hook up, I would recommend this to anyone! ...read more

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: ROBERT from CA

Date: September 01, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Street ing box

This is a great box for a mild to wild street engine. I installed it on a customers 67' GTO and it works as advertised with the MSD billet distributor.

0 of 0 found this review helpful.

report abuse

Report Abuse Close

If you feel that this review is inappropriate and should be removed from the site, report it to us by clicking the "Report Abuse" button below.

Cancel

Reviewer: CHARLIE from TX

Date: August 15, 2014

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Some parts are not legal for sale or use in California on any pollution-controlled motor vehicles

Back To Results
Email this page Close
Close